Strict invoicing enables you to prevent changes on invoices once they have been issued.
If changes need to be made to the invoice, a credit note will automatically be created as well as a new Draft.
Activate Strict Invoicing
In order to activate it go to Settings > Options and tick the option « Strict Invoicing ».
Please note that the activation or deactivation of strict billing is not retroactive.
Meaning that all invoices created before the activation of this option will remain editable when in "Created" status and will not automatically generate a credit note if you edit or cancel them.
Editing an invoice
Only Drafts can be completely modified.
Once you have saved your Draft as a New Invoice :
- you will be able to edit the billing address, description and your invoicing custom fields
- but won't be able to edit the customer, site, VAT number, parts, discounts, taxes...
If you wish to edit the above data on a Created, Sent, Paid or Late Invoice, the following will happen:
- the invoice will be cancelled
- a credit note will be created
- a new Draft will be created with the exact same data, which can be editable
Deleting or Cancelling an invoice
Only Drafts can be deleted.
When an invoice is in Created, Sent, Paid or Late status then it can only be cancelled.
If you cancel an invoice then a credit note will automatically be created.